Skip to content ↓

St Michael'sCatholic Primary School


Welcome to Nursery! 

Children will be learning skills and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development, as well as learning about the Catholic faith through the Come and See curriculum.

Within the 7 areas of learning there are 3 prime areas, which are essential for your child's development and lifelong learning.

These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These are the 4 specific areas: 

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Children learn through topics each half term and every week the topic is broken down into books relating to the topic. The 7 areas of learning are then intertwined into these topics and learning and activities are planned.

Have a look at their learning in action!